Kyle Jennings, Chair
American General Life Companies

Erich Almonte
King and Spalding

Claire Bocchini, M.D.
Baylor College of Medicine

Donald Bowers
Federal Reserve Bank

Erich Canseco
Morgan Stanley

David Cordúa
Cordúa Restaurants

Michael Dokupil
SFC Partners

Kindel Elam
The Mattress Firm

Christopher Greeley, M.D.
Texas Children’s Hospital
Baylor College of Medicine

Lance Gilliam
Waterman Steele

William Gordon
Hecules Offshore

Lauren Harrison
Jones Walker

Theresa Hildreth
Metromorphis Design

George Hittner
Major, Lindsey, and Africa

E. Stratton Horres
Wilson Elser

Rebecca Hove
Greater Houston Community Foundation

Pam Humphrey

Steven Jones

Michelle Kelly
Community Advocate

Devika Kornbacher
Vinson & Elkins

Maddy Kulkarni

Tracy Maddox
Community Health Choice

Eve McFadden
Sysco Foods

Sidney Moncrief
Moncrief One Team

Timmy Newsome
Newtec Business Solutions

David Roylance
Prism Energy Solutions

H. Benjamin Samuels
Victory Packaging

Lynn Sessions
Baker Hostetler

Sebastien Solar
Bank of Texas

Myron F. (Buddy) Steves, Jr., M.A., CPCU
Myron Steves

Brent Thomas
Prudentia Fiduciary Partners

Ed Tufaro
Memorial Hermann

Chris Watt
Reed Smith

Larry Wisniewski

Robert Sanborn, Ed.D.


Dr. Carolyn Farb, h.c.

Kathleen Gallagher

Diana Davila Martinez

Virginia McFarland

James S. Mickelson

Richard W. Mithoff

Laurence Payne

Rev. Joe Samuel Ratliff

Jack Segal, Rabbi Emeritus

Melissa Wilson


Stratton Horres, Chair
Wilson Elser Moskowitz Edelman & Dicker

Calvert Collins-Bratton
Methodist Health System

Dan Hagood
Fitzpatrick Hagood Smith & Uhl, LLP

Maddy Kulkarni

Steve Love
Dallas Fort-Worth Hospital Council

Shara McClure
BlueCross BlueShield of Texas

Sidney Moncrief
Moncrief One Team

Scott Murray
Murray Media USA

Timmy Newsome
Newtec Business Solutions

John Phillips
Methodist Mansfield Medical Center

Byron Sanders
U.S. Trust

Ron Taylor
Wilson Elser Moskowitz Edelman & Dicker

Larry Tubb
Cook Children’s Health Care System

Michael Zangoei
UMB Bank

Todd Ranta
Pricewaterhouse Coopers

Kate Sudal
Cushman and Wakefield

Amanda Willis


Michael Maher
Presenture, LLC

Jeffrey Starke, M.D.
Texas Children’s Hospital

Robert Zincke
Former President, Kroger


CHILDREN AT RISK’s Law Advisory Board oversees the research and advocacy efforts of the Public Policy and Law Center. Comprised of over forty dedicated attorneys from across Texas, the board meets on a quarterly basis to discuss current issues affecting Texas’ children and the possible legal solutions to address these issues. The guidance and legal expertise provided by the Law Advisory Board has helped CHILDREN AT RISK to achieve legislative victories on human trafficking, education, juvenile justice, and health issues. With the support of the Law Advisory Board, CHILDREN AT RISK will continue to employ the law and advocacy as tools to improve the quality of life for Texas’ children.

Bruce Hurley, Co-Chair
King & SpaldingLLP

Jennifer Tomsen, Co-Chair
Greenberg Traurig LLP

Wafa Abdin
Catholic Charities

Bob Baker
Attorney at Law

Sherie Beckman
Mithoff Law Firm

Christopher Borrecca
Thompson and Horton LLP

Melanie D. Bragg
Legal Insight Inc.

Andrea Backsheider Burridge, Ph.D.
University of Houston

Katherine Cabaniss
Judge of the 248th Criminal District Court of Harris County

Kate Champion
Exxon Mobil Corporation

Judie Cross
Pathways for Little Feet

Will Denham
Attorney at Law

Dennis Duffy
Baker Botts LLP

Linda M. Dunson
Donovan & Watkins

Joshua Farkas
Dynegy Inc.

Sally Green
Thurgood Marshall School of Law, Texas Southern University

Lauren Harrison
Jones Walker

Eyvette Hetherington
Attorney at Law

James Holtz
Holtz Law Firm PC

George Jordan
Fullbright & Jaworski LLP

Ellyn Josef
Vinson & Elkins LLP

Karyl M. Lawson
Attorney at Law, Retired

Susan Lindberg
Eni Petroleum Co., Inc.

Karen Maston
Sedgwick, Detert, Moran & Arnold LLP

John Meredith

Silvia Mintz
Plake and Mintz PLLC

Susan Pennebaker, Esq.
Pennebaker Fifth Ring

Yohanna Romero Baca
Garza & Associates

Lynn Sessions
Baker Hostetler

Lisa Sherrill
Attorney at Law

Ann Stephens
Shell Oil Company

Andrew Strong
Kalon Biotherapeutics LLC

Angie Truitt
Collier Legal


The CHILDREN AT RISK Institute is an academically oriented policy and research collaborative focused on facilitating research and scholarship to promote new and innovative public policy solutions to the challenges faced by children.

Angelo P. Giardino, M.D., Ph.D.
Chair of the Institute
Medical Director, Texas Children’s Health Plan
Clinical Professor, Baylor College of Medicine

Dominic Aquila
Vice President for Academic Affairs
The University of St. Thomas

Charles Begley, Ph.D.
Professor and Co-Director of the Center for Health Services Research
University of Texas Health Science Center – Houston, School of Public Health

Ira Colby, D.S.W., LCSW-ACP
University of Houston, Graduate College of Social Work

Frances Deviney, Ph.D.
Texas KIDS COUNT Director
Center for Public Policy Priorities

Catherine Flaitz, D.D.S., M.S.
University of Texas Dental Branch at Houston

Glenn Flores, M.D.
Judith and Charles Ginsburg Chair in Pediatrics
Department of Clinical Sciences
University of Texas Southwestern Medical Center

J. Greg Getz, Ph.D.
Professor of Social Sciences
University of Houston-Downtown

Christopher Greeley, M.D., FAAP
Associate Professor, University of Texas Health Sciences Center at Houston

Rick Halperin, Ph.D.
Embrey Human Rights Program, Southern Methodist University

Deanna Hoelscher, Ph.D.
The Michael & Susan Dell Center for Advancement of Healthy Living, Professor at UT School of Public Health

W. Robert Houston, Ed.D.
Moores Professor & Executive Director
University of Houston, College of Education

Stephen L. Klineberg, Ph.D.
Rice University

Duncan Klussmann, Ed.D.
Spring Branch ISD

Susan Landry, Ph.D.
Director and Founder, Children’s Learning Institute
University of Texas Health Science Center at Houston

Linda Lloyd, Ph.D., M.B.A., M.S.W.
University of Texas, School of Public Health

Beth Pelz, Ph.D.
University of Houston-Downtown, College of Public Service

Jean Raphel, MD, MPHBaylor College of Medicine, Texas Children’s Hospital

M. Douglas Ris, Ph.D., ABPP-CN
Professor and Head, Section of Psychology, Department of Pediatrics, Baylor College of Medicine;
Chief, Psychology Service, Texas Children’s Hospital

Carroll G. Robinson, Esq.
Associate Dean of External Affairs
Texas Southern University, School of Public Affairs

Cathy L. Rozmus, Esq.
Associate Dean for Academic Affairs
University of Texas Health Science Center- Houston

Steve Schnee, Ph.D.
Executive Director
The Mental Health and Mental Retardation Authority of Harris County

Keely Smith, M.D.
Pediatric Residency Program Director
University of Texas Health Science Center at Houston

Ruth SoRelle, M.P.H.
Chief Science Editor
Baylor College of Medicine

Jeffrey Starke, M.D., FAAP
Director, Infection Control, Texas Children’s Hospital
Professor and Vice Chairman of Pediatrics, Baylor College of Medicine

Lori Taylor, Ph.D.
Associate Professor, Bush School of Government and Public Service
Texas A&M University